Friday, September 21, 2018
Contact Us  |  Help  |  Site Map
Welcome: Guest
Headlines: Loading...
Wildcard SSL Certificates
Honours & Awards Celebration 2016
Honours and Awards Celebration 2016
Attendees at this year's Equity Honours and Awards celebration got a sneak peek at the new Equity logo which commemorates Equity's 40th Anniversary.
A close-up of the awards.
Equity Council's 2nd Vice President Sedina Fiati welcomes guests, members and honorees.
Council President Allan Teichman and Executive Director Arden R. Ryshpan present the new Equity 40th Anniversary logo and welcome the evening's emcee Dan MacDonald.
Dan MacDonald was Equity's very first Council President at the time of Equity's amicable separation from AEA in 1976. Dan provides a bit of history on the birth of Canadian Equity and our national legacy.
Shaw Festival Artistic Director Emeritus Christopher Newton introduces long-time Shaw Festival performer and Life Membership honoree Jennifer Phipps.
(L to R: Jennifer Phipps, Christopher Newton, Dan MacDonald)
Actor and 40-year Equity member Rod Beattie introduces Life Membership honoree Greg Wanless.
Greg Wanless accepts Life Membership in Equity. Greg was the founding director of Thousand Islands Playhouse.
(L to R: Rod Beattie and Greg Wanless)
Larry McCance Award winner (2009) Barbara Gordon presents Honorary Membership to Barbara Fingerote.
Barbara Fingerote is regarded as one of the most dedicated theatre volunteers and audience members in the Toronto theatre scene.
(L to R: Barbara Gordon and Barbara Fingerote)
Equity Councillors Jane Heyman (BC & Yukon) and Minh Ly (Ontario) introduce teacher, mentor and Studio 58 Artistic Director Kathryn Shaw.
Equity Councillors Jane Heyman (BC & Yukon) and Minh Ly (Ontario) introduce teacher, mentor and Studio 58 Artistic Director Kathryn Shaw.
Kathryn Shaw accepts the Life Membership award.
(L to R: Minh Ly, Kathryn Shaw, and Jane Heyman)
Walter Learning introduces Life Membership honoree Ted Follows.
Ted Follows has enjoyed a distinguished career as an actor, director and pioneer of Canadian theatre.
(L to R: Ted Follows, Walter Learning)

Watch the speeches here (Video)

Canadian Actors' Equity Association held its biennial awards celebrating artistic excellence, philanthropy and community leadership on February 22, 2016. This year's celebration recognized the 40th anniversary of Canadian Equity's amicable separation from American Equity Association (U.S.), on April 1, 1976.

New Equity Logo Launch: 2016 marks 40 years of Canadian Actors' Equity Association, and 60 years that Equity has existed in Canada. This anniversary presents a fantastic opportunity in which to mark our Canadian heritage and modernize our look. Read more about Equity's new logo here.

Life Membership is awarded by Council to members who have made an outstanding contribution to the performing arts. It recognizes not only career achievement, but also colleagues who go above and beyond to benefit Equity and its members.

Ted Follows, Jennifer Phipps, Kathryn Shaw and Greg Wanless were recognized for their artistic excellence and achievement and also for their dedication to mentoring emerging talent.

Honorary Membership is awarded by Equity's Council to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the Association, its members and the performing arts community in Canada.

Dedicated volunteer for numerous theatres, and arts supporter Barbara Fingerote received Honorary Membership in Equity. Barbara is also regarded as one of the most dedicated audience members in the Toronto theatre scene. Click here for a full transcript of Barbara's speech.

  Canadian Actors' Equity Association  •   2018  •  All rights reserved  •  Personal Information Policy  •  Disclaimer